Scott Cullen

Police procedural novels set in Edinburgh, starring a young cop at the bottom of a ladder he’s desperate to climb.

Gritty, earthy, moreish.

Book 1

Ghost in the Machine

With a messy divorce behind her, Caroline Adamson’s future is finally looking up. But after her mutilated body is found, police think Caroline’s ex-husband is the main suspect.

When one murder becomes three, Edinburgh faces up to the fact that it might have a serial killer in its midst. Then DC Scott Cullen of Lothian and Borders CID starts to question his superiors. Could the answer lie with Schoolbook, the latest social media craze to hit the city? Cullen has only been in the job for three months but he’s determined to prove himself, and equally as determined that the right person faces justice. As things take an even darker, personal turn, Cullen realises that he must look closer to home for the answer – before it’s too late.

A gritty, gripping and wholly satisfying modern crime novel, Ghost in the Machine asks the questions we don’t like to ask ourselves. Are we ever safe online, and how do we know who to trust?

Available from Amazon in ebook, print and audiobook.

Scott Cullen

Book 2

Devil in the Detail

Scott Cullen

Still reeling from the death of a colleague on his watch, DC Scott Cullen finds himself caught in the cross-fire of competitive police politics when the body of Mandy Gibson, a young disabled girl, turns up in the affluent East Lothian town of Garleton.

The heartbroken parents don’t hesitate to point the finger of suspicion at young Jamie Cook, a tearaway teen with a long history of run-ins with the police. But where is he now? When the victim’s and the suspect’s families are revealed to belong to an offshoot group of the Catholic Church run by an excommunicated priest, Cullen quickly realises that the key to catching the killer is finding out the darkest secrets of this close-knit community, one family at a time.

Available from Amazon in ebook, print and audiobook.

Book 3

Fire in the Blood

DC Scott Cullen is disillusioned with the force and his insufferable boss, DI Bain, not least because he keeps being overlooked for a promotion. That is until he finds himself investigating not one but two decades-old cases when the mangled and unidentifiable body of a man is found in a barrel of aged Dunpender Distillery whisky.

The plot thickens when it is discovered that two men working at the distillery went missing within weeks of each other around the same time the barrel was filled nearly twenty years ago. As Cullen steps back in time to work out what happened, he finds himself steeped in twisted tales of family loyalties, lies and professional rivalries. But before Cullen can work out who the killer is, he needs to know whose body is in the barrel…

Available from Amazon in ebook, print and audiobook.

Scott Cullen

Book 4

Stab in the Dark

Scott Cullen

DC Scott Cullen likes to play hard and fast with the rules and while it might antagonise his colleagues – and superiors – it gets results. But resistance to his cowboy attitude, coupled with fears about a forthcoming police restructure, mean that things aren’t looking good for the maverick cop, especially when his personal life begins to crumble.

Then the body of a young man turns up in a totalled car in West Lothian. It looks like a straightforward case until that seemingly accidental death turns into two undeniable murders and Cullen gets caught in the risky crossfire of several different investigations. When the case shines a light on the murky underworld of football hooliganism, things become unexpectedly too personal for comfort.

Can Cullen work out what’s going on, or were his colleagues right about him all along?

Available from Amazon in ebook and print.

Books 1-4 collected as

“Cullen Year One”

Available from Amazon in ebook at a bargain price.

Book 5

Cops & Robbers

Things are finally going well for ADS Scott Cullen. He’s just moved in with his girlfriend and, thanks to a merger at work, the promotion he craves is almost in reach. Just so long as he can keep out of trouble…

Then the severely decomposed body of a man is found amid the labyrinthine alleyways of Edinburgh’s Old Town; he has a screwdriver through his heart. The investigation leads Cullen to unsettled scores in the music industry, where bands and their bitter rivalries might just have turned murderous.

Suddenly things aren’t looking so good. Cullen’s relationship takes an alarming turn, just as the unsolved case begins to weigh heavily on him. Cullen’s maverick tactics have helped him in the past, but will they come back to haunt him – and put others in danger?

Available from Amazon in ebook and print.

Scott Cullen

Book 6

Liars & Thieves

Scott Cullen

A novel in two parts.

In “Christmas Steps”, Detective Constable Scott Cullen investigates the gruesome murder of a businessman on a cold Christmas Eve in Edinburgh.

Then in “Windchill”, Cullen’s peaceful return from holiday is scuppered when the body of a barman is found with a knife in his gut. What seems to be a straightforward case of violent jealousy soon reveals itself to have much darker links; revelations of mounting debts, out of control gambling and organised crime lead to the discovery of another body.

With the carrot of promotion dangled in front of him, Cullen sets out to solve the murders, but can he untangle the web?

Available from Amazon in ebook and print.

Book 7

Cowboys & Indians

With a series of male rapes around Edinburgh puzzling police, a bloodied corpse is found in the shadow of Edinburgh’s Dean Bridge, half-naked and battered. Who is he? Did he fall or was he pushed? Why is he handcuffed?

As the victim is identified, the case only gets murkier. Detective Sergeant Scott Cullen of Police Scotland’s Edinburgh Major Investigation Team is sucked into the depths of the city’s financial services sector, facing up to some old enemies and creating some new ones.

Just months into his new role, Cullen is torn by the trials of a management role, putting a friendship on the line. New leads take them no further forward — too many suspects in a world where nobody trusts anyone and all are out for themselves. Can Cullen catch a killer who could be anyone?

Available from Amazon in ebook and print.

Scott Cullen

Book 8

Heroes & Villains

Scott Cullen

After a previous case got him sidelined to a drugs investigation, DS Scott Cullen of Police Scotland’s Edinburgh MIT closes in on a long-time adversary. Dean Vardy, Edinburgh’s latest drug kingpin, and notorious rapist. Every time they close in on him, he gets off, aided and abetted by his lawyer, Campbell McLintock. But this time Vardy goes too far.

Or does he? After a witness dies, Cullen is soon desperately trying to hold the case together, with Vardy’s conviction dangling by a thread. Will McLintock get Vardy off yet again?

But soon, Cullen and his team are facing a different threat. A brutal vigilante, doling out frontier justice and obeying no laws. Can Cullen catch a killer who could be one of their own?

Available from Amazon in ebook and print.



Travel is Dangerous

A short story featuring Cullen and Bain in Glasgow, set between Cullen 7 and 8. Published in the 2017 CWA anthology. Available soon as a novella.

Available soon from Amazon in ebook and print.

Next Book:

No current plans for a ninth Cullen novel, but watch this space and the newsletters for updates.

If you haven’t read them, Cullen features in all of the Craig Hunter books, a spin-off after Hunter was added to the edited version of COWBOYS & INDIANS (book five).

%d bloggers like this: