Ed James

Bestselling Scottish crime writer, famous for the DI Fenchurch novels, set in gritty East London, and the two interconnected police procedural series featuring Edinburgh detectives Scott Cullen and Craig Hunter.

Ed James writes crime-fiction novels. His Scott Cullen series features a young Edinburgh Detective investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. Set four hundred miles south on the gritty streets of East London, his DI Fenchurch series features a detective with little to lose. His next series takes place thousands of miles west, with FBI Special Agent Max Carter investigating child abductions in Seattle and the US Pacific Northwest.

Formerly an IT project manager, Ed began writing on planes, trains and automobiles to fill his weekly commute to London. He now writes full-time and lives in the Scottish Borders, with his girlfriend and a menagerie of rescued animals.

Next Releases

The Black Isle

Ed’s next novel is the third DC Craig Hunter book, “THE BLACK ISLE”, where a troubled cop searches for his presumed-dead brother in the far north of Scotland.

Out now, it’s available in ebook and paperback now.


Max Carter

shutterstock_624106589 SM

In 2020, Bookouture will publish three of Ed’s thrillers set in Seattle and the Pacific Northwest, starring FBI Special Agent Max Carter. Book 1 (Title TBA) will be published on 21st January 2020.

Press release.

Latest News