Ed James

Bestselling Scottish crime writer, famous for the DI Fenchurch novels, set in gritty East London, and the two interconnected police procedural series featuring Edinburgh detectives Scott Cullen and Craig Hunter.

Ed James writes crime-fiction novels. His Scott Cullen series features a young Edinburgh Detective investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. Set four hundred miles south on the gritty streets of East London, his DI Fenchurch series features a detective with little to lose. His next series takes place thousands of miles west, with FBI Special Agent Max Carter investigating child abductions in Seattle and the US Pacific Northwest.

Formerly an IT project manager, Ed began writing on planes, trains and automobiles to fill his weekly commute to London. He now writes full-time and lives in the Scottish Borders, with his girlfriend and a menagerie of rescued animals.

Next Releases

City of the Dead

Cullen’s back!

The first Cullen and Bain novella, “City of the Dead”, where two cops at each other’s throats investigate a dead body on strange turf — Glasgow.

It’s available to preorder now in ebook.



A new novel, a new location.


‘Chilling, highly original, and highly recommended.’ Caz Frear, SWEET LITTLE LIES

‘Just when your heart rate is getting back to normal, SENSELESS smacks you in the face with another twist’ JENNY BLACKHURST, No.1 bestselling author

It’s available to preorder now in ebook and audiobook.



The Black Isle

Craig Hunter returns in “The Black Isle”, where a troubled cop searches for his presumed-dead brother in the far north of Scotland.

Out now, it’s available in ebook and paperback.


Max Carter

shutterstock_624106589 SM

In 2020, Bookouture will publish three of Ed’s thrillers set in Seattle and the Pacific Northwest, starring FBI Special Agent Max Carter. Book 1 (Title TBA) will be published on 21st January 2020.

Press release.

Latest News